Work and play

Lonely-Woman
https://tinybuddha.com/blog/why-we-might-feel-lonely-and-what-to-do-about-it/

Just when I was feeling frustrated by the fact that I’m in a team with only two people (me being one of the two) and having no one else to talk to at work, I began meeting someone who works in a different area, who gave me something to engage in whilst being able to meet other people from work.

I’m a cyclist, which means that I get see certain people regularly when I get into work – which is mostly in the changing rooms. One of these individuals was weirdly enough part of a work climbing group. I say ‘weirdly’, because climbing was one of the sports I have wanted to try out, for a long time. I had done a climbing session when I was younger and I had been scared sh*tless. But for some reason over the years, I had begun to think of it as something I could try doing properly. So it was really random when she had asked if I had wanted to go, but it was a a definite yes, on my part.

Together
https://pixabay.com/en/photos/buddies/

So after months of frustration, I found an activity that I could do and it was with my work colleagues. I no longer felt like a weird loner who didn’t know anyone. Sadly, they work on a completely different floor, so it’s not like I can just go and have a chat with them at work whenever I want. But the fact that I have a presence at work, that I am engaging with my work colleagues, makes me feel like I am beginning to belong. 

I have to say that, I was surprised that I went. I’m the type that is incredibly shy and stumbles over my words and is incredibly awkward with people I don’t know. But these last few months have taught me that I like people. I like having different people to talk to and do things with . Also, my interests have increased, which means that it’s nice to have people in my life that share those interests. So, I wasn’t going to let my awkward self sabotage what could be a great experience.

Leave a Reply

